“The World Tomorrow” Press Release Episode 2- Slavoj Zizek and David Horowitz

Press Release Episode 2: Slavoj Zizek and David Horowitz Tuesday 24 April, 12:30 PM London time

 

Slavoj Zizek and David Horowitz are the guests for the second episode of Julian Assange’s interview show, “The World Tomorrow”. Broadcasters will air the episode in English, Spanish, Arabic, Italian and Russian, beginning Tuesday 24 April at: 12:30 PM London time, 7:30 AM (New York), 13.30 PM (Rome), 15:30 PM (Moscow) and 9:30 PM (Sydney/Melbourne). RT will air the episode throughout the day on its international cable network which covers over 430 million subscribers, including 53 million in the United States (http://rt.com/usa). The episode will be available online immediately after broadcasting. Transcripts and URLs will be available at http://worldtomorrow.wikileaks.org/

 

“Intellectual superstar” Slavoj Zizek is a philosopher, psychoanalyst and cultural commentator. Zizek was a dissident thinker in Tito’s Yugoslavia and ran for president in the 1990 Slovenian presidential election. Zizek is a notorious provocateur, who describes himself as a Leninist as well as an admirer of Europe’s Judeo-Christian heritage, and decorates his flat in Ljubljana with a portrait of Joseph Stalin. He is Professor at the European Graduate School, senior researcher at the Institute of Sociology, University of Ljubljana and International Director of the Birkbeck Centre for the Humanities, University of London.

David Horowitz is a renowned stalwart of hardline conservative American political thought and an unrepentant Zionist. During the 1960s and 1970s, Horowitz was the editor of Ramparts magazine and a leading figure in the emerging “New Left” at the University of California, Berkeley, and an employee of the Bertrand Russell Peace Foundation in London. Horowitz’s journey to the right of the political spectrum began in the 1970s, after his involvement with the Black Panthers ended in a personal tragedy. He is the Director of the David Horowitz Freedom Center and a prolific author of political literature. His foundation campaigns against leftist and Islamist influence in the media, in academia and in politics.

 

The tone of the conversation between Zizek, Horowitz and Assange alternated between combative, personal and good-humoured. The topics covered jumped backwards and forwards at a wildfire pace, to include Palestinians and Nazis, Joseph Stalin and Barack Obama, the decline of Europe and the tension between liberty and equality, amongst many others. This 26-minute edit is cut from a 2.5 hour long conversation. More information about the programme and inquiries into licensing an extended version of the interview should be made via the show’s website: http://worldtomorrow.wikileaks.org

 

http://worldtomorrow.wikileaks.org/news.html

Be Sociable, Share!